thanks and giving

so i’ve had a bit of blog-writers-block.

truthfully…with ragnar and my fall running events successfully behind me, i didn’t want to think or talk about running all that much i guess.

the creativity well ran a little dry.

but i’ve been thinking a lot lately. about a lot of things. across the board. all over the map. whatever cliched term you want to use… in a nutshell (hehe), there’s been a lot on my mind.

i don’t think i’m alone in that though. with thanksgiving tomorrow and a new year just around the corner, it’s definitely a time of year where we tend to reassess things in our lives. make changes for the better. and while there are certainly things that i’d like to change, that doesn’t mean i’m not giving thanks each and every day for my blessings. here are just a few that came to mind when i hit the treadmill this morning…

  • loving parents, grandfather, brother, sister, brother-in-law, nieces, and family
  • amazing, supportive friends
  • my snuggly, cuddly, silly best fur-friend mojo
  • good health for all of the above
  • my friend Kelley is in remission and cancer free
  • my friend Hank’s son will be 5 years cancer free this friday, 11/23/2012
  • my dad is 5 years cancer free this month
  • roof over my head (even if it’s tiny)
  • steady employment that allows me to live my life the way i choose
  • my education…that helped me to get that steady employment
  • strong legs to help get me from point a to b…no matter what the speed 😉
  • my ability to pick up and go at a moment’s notice- even if it’s not very far
  • moments that made me laugh…because who doesn’t like to laugh?
  • moments that made me cry…because they helped me to grow
  • moments that made me angry…because i learned from them
  • so. so. so much more than this…

so many things to be truly grateful for that it seems silly to put them in a list like this as it feels so limiting.

as i’ve grown older and seen more of the world, i’ve  realized that most of what i’ve been given are not rights, but privileges. gifts really.

for this reason…it seems silly not to give back. in whatever capacity i can (time, money, etc.)

for this reason…this thanksgiving…and really throughout the year…i’ve decided to keep the following quote in mind…

“Ask yourself: Can I give more?  The answer is usually: ‘Yes’.”

-Paul Tergat, Kenyan professional marathoner

while he’s referring to running…i think it applies well to my life…across the board.

so in the spirit of giving…here are a few charities that i like to support:

happy running and happy turkey day all 🙂

Leave a Reply

